Skip to content

Alma 29, Etc.

February 24, 2014

“Matthew 13:44 If you aren’t willing to sell everything you have for that which is worth more than your possessions… you won’t have enough to buy it.”Clayton (Elder Rackham)

 “And where Other missionaries have dropped their family, we came out of the cita with hope, and a love for that family, They will progress. They just have a struggle a little more complicated than some. But we love them to much to give them up just because they´re in need of a little repentance. ” —Katie (Hermana Rackham)

 “Sometimes I tell myself that some days I build Zion, and some days Zion is built in me. Either way, Zion is being built and we are fulfilling our purpose.”Sister Forbush

  “The Lord knows us and knows our lives. He knows the spot of ground that He planted us in and He knows that wherever we are and whatever our circumstances are it is for our good. If we let Him, He will nourish us and strengthen us and help us bring forth much fruit. “  -Sister White

 “I love this work! It is so fulfilling and so real! I am so grateful for every companion I’ve had and every area I have served in. The Lord really knows what He’s doing and I know I have been exactly where He’s needed me at the exact time!”Sister Jorgensen

###

 So this started with, “Look how cool my siblings are and how much they’ve grown up I’m so proud of them!” and turned into, “Look how many missionaries I get to hear from and this is probably why I’m so happy all the time!”  My life is sweet and the Lord is very good to me. =)

 We had a rock awesome week.  We got our car back! =)  And found a lot of new investigators. And had powerful, focused lessons with Linda and Pam–church tours are great!  And we’re making slow progress with Larry, but he’ll come around.  Larry is one of those people I was thinking about last week when I told you things would get cooler with time.  His wife and daughters are members of the Church and we actually live in his in-laws’ basement apartment.  He has a tough outer shell, but as soon as something clicks with him, he’ll want the gospel.  He still keeps saying he won’t read or pray or come to church, but he listens to us every time we come over.  And the look on his face when he listens to his wife talk about the gospel is why we persist in coming over.  Someday. 

 Enrique was at church again!  Cool story about that–Zenaida and her kids and her mom were at church, too!  In Mexico!  We sent their address to the missionaries there along with a message that went something like, “She already knows it’s all true and wants to get baptized so please go find her.” So the good elders in Mexico wasted no time in finding her.  They gave her son a blessing in the hospital and the whole family went to church this week.  =)  I love how global and universal this work is. =)

 Some thoughts on the scriptures: this is all mostly Alma 29 when one of the best missionaries EVER reflects on his calling and his mission.  He first launches into this whole, “Oh that I were an angel” rave about wanting to do more and be more and be able to testify stronger and louder and more boldly and more widely, etc.  Have I felt that way? You bet.  And for a long time, that’s all I got out of that chapter.  I wanted to go all out and this place was going to become the Albany WARD (not the Albany Branch) while I was here because there’s so much opportunity!  I had enough enthusiasm for the whole mission.  And then we hit a few setbacks. 

 My hope and enthusiasm haven’t waned any, rest assured, the unsinkable Sister Rackham is as buoyant and optimistic as ever.  But now I feel more focused.  Now I get more of that chapter.  In verse 6, after sharing his testimony that the Lord will give each person according to their desires and that the Lord is just, Alma says this, “Now, seeing that I know these things, why should I desire more than to perform the work to which I have been called?”  There’s a hymn that got me on a mission and it goes like this, “It may not be on the mountain height or over the stormy sea, it may not be at the battle’s front my Lord will have need of me.  But if, by a still small voice He calls to paths that I do not know, I answer, “Dear Lord, with my hand in Thine, I’ll go where You want me to go.”  That’s not really the end of my thought–it goes on into verses 13-14 about glorying in others’ success–hence the pulling quote from other missionaries today, but I’m out of time.  Possibly to be continued…

 This is the real deal, folks.  Know it, live it, love it.  I love all of you!

love,

Sister Rackham

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

