Skip to content

Me Llamo Raquel ;)

February 10, 2014

Hi y’all!

 It’s been a really good week!  Last week was rough, but this week more than made up for it!  So apparently we endured it well last week. =)  The big news: transfers happened!  We stayed in Albany!  I am the first sister missionary to serve more than 3 transfers in this area.  I feel like a historic figure. 😉 (and she’s got the sweatshirt to prove it!)

Image

 Funny moment for Davis: I have a Valentine.  This older man in the branch who lives in a group home named Earl.  He’s mostly there mentally, but not all the way.  He asked me on a date a few months ago. He calls a lot just to talk to us, mostly me. And this morning he called again.  Sister Bowden answered the phone and put it on speaker.  He said he wanted to wish me a happy Valentine’s day and Sister Bowden was my hero and told him she would relay the message.  Companions are the BEST! 

 And this next story is why “me llamo Raquel.” Ready? So we were visiting Enrique, one of our Mexican investigators and while we were there Zenaida called him.  He motioned that he wanted to put me on the phone with her and then by way of introduction he told her that he was giving the phone to Raquel.  I’d heard them say “Raquel” before and I always wondered who they were talking about.  Apparently I am Raquel.  I guess it’s close to Rackham, right?  I thought it was the cutest thing.   

 Ok, the week!  It snowed A LOT.  Pictures to follow.  We were stuck inside all day and when they gave us the go ahead to drive again, we had to shovel ourselves out.  We have a LONG driveway, but we also have 4WD so we didn’t shovel the whole thing. 😉  We made snow ice cream.  Regular ice cream is better, but it wasn’t bad. 

 We had a few really great lessons this week–the kind where when you leave you feel like you actually made a difference for someone.  Two of our investigators (a wonderful young couple with a 10 month old son) are getting baptized in a few weeks!  =)  Caleb and Melissa.  They just fell into our lives–total miracle.  We had a good lesson with them.  And we had a good lesson with one of our less-actives who is living with one of our investigators.  He knows the Church is true, but he drinks and smokes.  His son is almost 8 and has been begging to get baptized.  We told this good brother that if he comes back to the Church, he could baptize his son.  It was neat to see that sink in for him.

 I’m really glad I get to stay here.  I absolutely love this little place.  And I LOVE these people.  What Nephi says about his people is more meaningful to me now. “For I pray continually for them by day, and mine eyes water my pillow for them by night, because of them; and I cry unto my God in faith, and I know He will hear my cry.  And I know that the Lord God will consecrate my prayers for the gain of my people.” -2 Nephi 33:3-4 These are my people. This winter has hit hard.  It’s been really cold.  Below 20 most every day for a few weeks.  And windy and snowy.  And propane prices went through the roof out here.  These people don’t have a lot.  Many of their homes are chilly because they can’t afford to keep them warm.  Their pipes freeze and they don’t have water. One member of the branch said that conditions here were third world in places.  Thinking about my people freezing in their homes makes me want to cry.  I love them so much!  It breaks my heart to find them in such circumstances.  And yet they have such faith!  I’ve learned a lot from these folks.  Faith and testimony and the brotherhood of the gospel pull us through the hard times.

 Other highlight of my week… Primary!  I do hope Sister Zundel gets bI etter soon, but I’m enjoying subbing for her.  But it will be good when she’s back because she probably doesn’t blubber when they sing like I do.  “Book of Mormon stories teach that we must brothers be.” and “We will be the Lord’s missionaries to bring the world His truth.” Got me all choked up yesterday.  The kids were good sports, really reverent, too, and just smiled. =)

 The Church is true.  The Savior loves us.  Having the Spirit with us is the BEST part of mortality. That and being surrounded by good faithful people, but the two go together pretty well. I love you all!

 love,

Sister Rackham

 1. Gotta honor family traditions. =)  Raspberry.

Image

2. my new planner! S. Forbush would like it, I think. =)

Image

3. There were 10 inches of snow piled up on the car.  And another 5 already on the ground from the week before!

Image

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

