Skip to content

Albany – December 2 (Lame title, sorry)

December 4, 2013
Happy Thanksgiving!  And Happy December! =) 
 
So, I’m trying to remember what happened this week… A week is a long time.  And yet the past few months have flown by!  I’ve been in Albany for 2 months to the day.  Crazy!
 
I suppose the biggest news of the week is a little bit of a downer, but only temporarily.  Our wonderful Mexican investigators who understand the gospel so deeply and love it so much and bear such powerful testimonies of the Book of Mormon and of Christ–they aren’t actually married.  And since the legality of their being in this country is questionable, the odds of getting a marriage license without involving the deportation police are slim.  Problem.  Right now, I’m hoping for some kind of vicarious license signing that they can have friends Mexico take care of for them so we can have a wedding and then a baptism for Christmas!  Our God is a God of miracles!  And even if the miracle comes in a way other than what I hope, it will still be beautiful because it will be from our Heavenly Father.
 
In other news, our other investigators are doing great!  Candi reads the Book of Mormon and texts us questions.  Georgie (this sweet 80+ year-old lady) says, “Well, that makes sense.” and “You might be right.” at all our lessons so far. 
 
Our little branch is doing well.  We had a powerful testimony meeting yesterday.  I was on the verge of tears the whole time.  One sister whose son was recently in a severe accident shared part of her experience and it really touched me.  She said that as she was praying for her son when she first heard about his accident (motorcycle crash) she felt the words, “You can be upset, you can even be angry, you can feel any emotions you want to.  You are his mother and that is your right.  But I am his Father and I know what’s best for him.”  Wow.  I wrote other quotes from the meeting, but I just wish you all could have been there with me.  The Church is true all over the world.  Even in little hole-in-the-wall towns like this that the world doesn’t even know exist.  The gospel is true and it heals people in real and significant ways every day.  I have felt the enabling power of Christ’s Atonement in my life more out here in this little “corner of Missouri” than at any other time in my life.  It’s real. 
 
And it’s especially poignant this time of year.  It’s such a joy to be so completely wrapped up in the Lord’s service at this time of thanksgiving and celebrating His coming.  I love being a missionary! =)  Thank you all for your support and stories and love and prayers.  I love you all!
 
love,
Sister Rackham
From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

