Skip to content

Cows and Prayers

August 27, 2013

So this week! 

Funny moment first, as per Davis’ request:  We were driving in the country through fields where all these black cows were grazing.  Out of nowhere, Sister Jorgensen says, “What if we were cows? I mean, think about that for a second.” and then launches into this hilarious commentary/running query about the souls of cows and their purpose on earth and their role in the eternities.  I was doubled over laughing for a while. =)

Highlights: AJ came to church!  We had a lesson with him about the doctrine of Christ and asked how his reading and praying was going.  He told us he had read part of the Book of Mormon, prayed about it, and he knew it was true.  Just like that.  It works!  Just like Moroni promised it would!  I love watching that in action.

We met with this less-active couple in the ward.  They’re the ones who think of us as their daughters.  We got to the root of their issue with the church and they’re on board with letting us come and help them build their faith back up.  When these good people get married in the temple, I’ll be there.  I’ll fly from wherever I am at the time to be there.  These people are one of the reasons I feel like I really am where I need to be. 

We also met the cutest little family ever!  They have a 5-month-old daughter, they’ve been married for 4 years, they go to church together every Sunday and have set aside Sunday as a family day, he’s an elementary school music teacher of all things, she dated a Mormon guy in high school, all his college friends are members of the Church, he’s read a lot of the Book of Mormon and prayed about it!  And he doesn’t feel that Joseph Smith was a prophet.  What?!  That’s not how it works.  They said we were welcome anytime we needed to escape the heat and get a glass of ice water, that they were open minded and would talk with us, but that they don’t want to lead us on.  This family feels like another one of those reasons I’m supposed to be here now.  So we’ll see where that goes.

Also, we had FHE with a family in our ward last night. We taught about prayer and how Heavenly Father always answers our prayers.  The little girl, she’s in first grade, recounted for us the story of Joseph Smith’s prayer in the Sacred Grove and the First Vision.  Hearing this little child speak truths that most of the world doesn’t know was so profound.  I just about cried listening to her relate the story with such childlike faith and certainty.  We have so much truth that so many people don’t.  It’s easy to take it for granted.  But I guess that’s part of our challenge, to not take life for granted, right?

Sometimes I think of things I’m thinking about, but then sometimes those thoughts get really quiet when I have time to hold them up in the light of a computer monitor.  I remember one or two.

This is the first time in my life that I’ve been an adult in the church.  This realization dawned on me the other day.  Singles wards don’t realy count, love them as I do.  As a missionary, we’re in on all the inner workings of the ward and we work closely with people in leadership positions.  Some people are easier to work with than others.  It’s interesting to see all this in sharp focus as an insider/outsider.  I love my ward and I love working with them.  And it’s very educational.  I think on my mission, I’ve started to see things I only ever felt before. 

Example:

I’m seeing healing in a new way on the mission than I have before. I scraped all the skin off my knee at the beginning of last transfer and it’s been interesting to watch my body mend itself. The scab fell off weeks ago, but the area is still red. It doesn’t hurt at all and it doesn’t bother me, but you can still tell it happened. A lady in our ward said something that really hurt me last week. I’ve been praying for that pain to go away, for the ability to be kind and have good thoughts toward this sister, to not let my pride get in the way of my full-hearted service. And I’ve noticed my heart healing. At first I just told the Lord I wanted to let it go. Then I felt it ease to the point where I wasn’t thinking about it unless I was with this sister. But I noticed myself finding fault with her in my mind to justify nursing my wound a little longer. And last night, I had a dream in which she and I had to work together to accomplish something–we were crossing a bridge with a whole bunch of little kids and we had to make dinner when we got to the other side–and I felt true compassion for this woman. I knew that she was a daughter of God, just like I am, going thru life trying to figure it out and do her best, she had shortcomings, she had moments where she felt inadequate, too. We needed each other and we worked together. It was a beautiful process. I have a testimony that the Lord can heal our hearts. I’ve felt that before, but I haven’t seen it this clearly before.

 The Atonement is real.  Christ loves each and every one of us.  The Holy Spirit is a real power of comfort and direction.  This work is God’s work.  I feel like I sound really serious, and I am, but if you could hear my voice saying it, I would sound matter-of-fact, I think.  That’s just how it is. =)  I love you all!  I hope you have a fabulous week!  Hurrah for Israel!

 

love,

Sister Rackham

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

