Skip to content

Bubbles

August 13, 2013
Hello dear ones!
 
So sometimes the work goes fast and smooth and sometimes it doesn’t.  Lately, things have been a little slow, and we felt like we needed something to shake it up and get things really rolling.  Enter our mini-missionary.  Sister Durfee came out with us on Saturday and we recruited a sister in our ward who leaves for the Boise Idaho mission in October and we did splits for a few hours on Saturday morning.  We taught ten lessons, placed 5 Books of Mormon, and found 2 new investigators and a handful of potential investigators.  It was what we needed to get some fresh wind in our sails.  So then we hit the ground running and saw some really beautiful things this week!
 
We found an investigator who speaks Spanish!  His name is Adrian and we were so stoked to teach him!  We studied our Spanish all morning while on shift at the HLJ (things there have been slowing, too–bus tour season is over…) and we had a sister from Mexico in our ward all lined up to come with us to the appointment.  And then Adrian wouldn’t open the door.  I was so jazzed to tell Katie that I was teaching people in Spanish, too, and he bailed.  But!  Miracle in disguise!  We were stalling on our way out of his apartment building, walking slow, looking at the mailboxes for names of other Hispanic families, etc.  And we heard someone coming down the stairs.  So we waited there like weirdos and then Sister Manzano (our Mexican sister/superstar) struck up a conversation with this woman walking downstairs.  Turns out this lady is a member of the Church but has been less active for a while.  She wants to have the missionary lessons again and she’s living with her non-member boyfriend and their cute little 2-year-old daughter. This is what we call opportunity. =)  This woman’s records weren’t on file because she moved recently, but Heavenly Father wanted us to find her and we did!  Our God is a God of miracles. 
 
At church on Sunday, Shannon bore his testimony of The Book of Mormon.  It was one of those beautiful moments where you just sit back in your chair and glow because you know they know.  There is real and undeniable power in that book, people.  And guess what?  Joseph Smith was a prophet!  Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ actually appeared to him!  Part of our Sunday school lesson was on the First Vision and the teacher asked me to recount the story.  Back-up for two seconds–that story is the unique theological premise of my whole purpose as a missionary.  I tell that story every day, several times a day.  I read it all the time.  And then on Sunday, I was telling it again to a class of believers (and one investigator) and it meant the world to me.  I couldn’t stop beaming.  That actually happened!  And it matters!  And it’s real.  I love those moments when the truth you’ve always known is suddenly more deeply meaningful.
 
Ok, that feels like enough hardcore stuff.  Trust me, there’s more, but I’ll spare you this time. 😉  Fun moment:  Betty came to the HLJ to watch The Testaments with us and on her way out she was talking to Sister Raymer.  Sister Raymer told me afterwards that Betty referred to me as her “little bubble” because I’m so bubbley and happy all the time.  Made my day!  I’ll be Betty’s little bubble anytime! =)
 
I was trying to think of another funny story because Sister Jorgensen and I laugh together all the time, but I can’t pin down any specific moments or stories.  I’ll work on that.  Maybe she’s just intrinsically funny and it can’t be captured.  Or maybe that’s a cop-out and I’ll be better about remembering stories… 😉
 
Also, we had dinner with this really wonderful cute little family last night–the mom is only 25 and they have 4 kids, the oldest starts kindergarten tomorrow!  It was so good to be in their home and catch the vision for where I want to be in life in another few years.  I love my ward.  I love my companion.  I love being a missionary.  I love this gospel.  It really is the plan of happiness. Really.  I love this church.  I love going to church and hearing how much this means to the people who go.  I love my Heavenly Father and my Savior Jesus Christ.  I love all of you.  Keep the faith.  Keep smiling.  Thanks for the prayers and support and love. =)
 
all my love,
Sister Rackham
From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

