Skip to content

Two.

April 24, 2013

That’s how many weeks until I report to the MTC.  (It’s also a more interesting title for a first post than One.)  This is about to get really real really fast.  Since I don’t have any mission adventures to share yet, and since this is mostly a technological trial run, I’ll just share a great little quote that’s been on my mind lately and my testimony.

Our devotional speaker here at BYU a few weeks back quoted Mother Teresa saying, “May you trust that you are right now where you were meant to be.”  That’s something I think about a lot.  I’m working on the trust part.  I know I can do good wherever I am.  And I always want to be everywhere with everyone I love.  So thinking about leaving on this mission is hard sometimes because I’m not going to be with all the people I love.  I’m going to grow to love another set of people and I can’t wait! (Honest.)  I just wish I could be everywhere.  “But behold, I am a [woman], and do sin in my wish; for I ought to be content with the things which the Lord hath allotted unto me.” -Alma 29:3  And I will be.  How could I not be? He’s allotted to me everything I ever wanted and then some.

I know this gospel is the real deal. Reality is refreshing.  There really is an answer to all life’s questions.  There really is a balm for all life’s pains.  There really is a source for all life’s authentic godly joy.  There really is a God and He really is our father.  Christ was and is a real person who really did what the scriptures say He did because it really needed doing.  Acknowledging the reality of hardship and suffering is an inherent acknowledgment of joy and relief.  Neither can exist in isolation.  Life really can be tough.  And Christ really can make it better.

I know Joseph Smith was the real deal.  No one would put up with that much abuse for a lie.  And the fruits of his labor are divinely inspired.  I read The Book of Mormon and always find in it the solace, direction, reassurance, and perspective I need.

I know Thomas S. Monson is the real deal.  We really have a prophet.  He really is in touch with God on our behalf.  He really knows what we need to learn and do to come close to our Father and to build His kingdom on this earth.

I know I need the Atonement of my Savior and I know He can apply it to my life as often as I ask.  I know my Lord wouldn’t ask me to reach farther than I can with His help.  I know He asks me to reach farther than I think I can, but that’s an important difference.  I know the Lord will enable us to do what He requires us to do.  I know He can heal and strengthen us.  And I know He will when we ask in faith. (And sometimes before we even remember to ask He heals us out of His own compassion regardless of our faith.)

And that knowledge is why I can trust that I’m going where I need to be.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

